Founders

How an idea can change everything

Ghana is a country rich in natural resources. Our motivation in founding the Ghana Greentech Academy was to help the people here to market, add value and distribute these resources internationally, on their own. From their own resources: this is the decisive key word - because only in this way can it be ensured that the wealth of the country will be preserved for future generations. Sustainable value creation that brings prosperity and work to local people is what we are all about. And it's been this way for a long time.

The Wallevik family has been active in Ghana since 1957. Even at our first local company, the furniture factory Scanstyle Mim, we were counting on hiring as many local employees as possible. Paul Wallevik made it possible for the best and most talented among them to receive training in Europe - because competent carpenters and woodworking specialists were necessary to be able to guarantee production at an international level. Even then, we had a plan to establish a training institution on site. A plan that we unfortunately had to abandon when the family left the country in 1974 due to the political situation at that time.

Today the framework conditions have changed (Ghana is a stable, peaceful democracy), but our commitment has remained the same. More than ever, we see the potential of Ghana and hope it develops. In our company, Mim Cashew & Agricultural Products, we have employed up to 1,500 people locally who process cashew nuts mainly for export to the USA. For such a factory to be able to assert itself on the world market, modern know-how is necessary, but so are the experts who can apply it. Instead of buying these experts abroad, we rely on on-site training.

This was the beginning of the academy: a technical academy for the companies in Mim. However, we were not satisfied with simply this. We wanted a professional academy, a broad range of training opportunities, financial security for academy operations and a concept that consistently focused on sustainability. They’re ambitious goals, which we were able to achieve with our team in Mim and will continue to expand.

What for so many years had only existed as an idea has finally become reality today: the Ghana Greentech Academy provides young people from the region with a high-quality education that prepares them for a successful career – internationally for some of them, but above all locally. This way Ghana can use its wealth of natural resources for a future the country itself benefits from the most.

Lars Wallevik

 

Ghana Greentech Academy
P.O. Box 51, Mim,
Brong Ahafo, Ghana
Tel: +233 545 59 06 31
l.andersen@ghanagreentech.org

Ghana Greentech Academy
Förderverein e.V.
Hardtbergweg 16
61476 Kronberg, Germany
Tel: +233 557 05 52 09
p.mueller-scheessel
@ghanagreentech.org

For more Information
follow us on

FacebookInstagram

Gründer

Wie eine Idee alles verändern kann

Ghana ist ein Land reich an natürlichen Ressourcen. Unsere Motivation bei der Gründung der Ghana Greentech Academy war, den Menschen hier dabei zu helfen, diese Ressourcen aus eigener Kraft international vermarkten und vertreiben zu können und so bleibenden Mehrwert zu schaffen. Aus eigener Kraft: das ist dabei das entscheidende Stichwort – denn nur so ist sichergestellt, dass der Reichtum des Landes für künftige Generationen erhalten bleibt. Nachhaltige Wertschöpfung, die den Menschen vor Ort Wohlstand und Arbeit bringt, darum geht es uns. Und das schon sehr lange.

Die Familie Wallevik ist bereits seit 1957 in Ghana aktiv. Schon bei unserer ersten Firma vor Ort, der Möbelfabrik Scanstyle Mim, setzten wir darauf, so viele lokale Mitarbeiter einzustellen wie möglich. Den besten und talentiertesten unter ihnen ermöglichte Paul Wallevik damals eine Ausbildung in Europa – denn kompetente Zimmerer und Fachleute für Holzarbeiten waren wichtig, um die Produktion auf internationalem Niveau gewährleisten zu können. Und auch damals schon hatten wir den Plan, vor Ort eine Ausbildungseinrichtung zu gründen. Ein Plan, den wir leider aufgeben mussten als die Familie 1974 auf Grund der damaligen politischen Situation das Land verließ.

Heute haben sich die Rahmenbedingungen geändert (Ghana ist eine stabile, friedliche Demokratie), unser Engagement ist aber das gleiche geblieben. Mehr denn je sehen wir das Potential Ghanas und wollen helfen, dies zu entfalten. In unserer Firma Mim Cashew & Agricultural Products beschäftigen wir vor Ort etwa 1.500 Menschen, die Cashew-Nüsse hauptsächlich für den Export in die USA weiterverarbeiten. Damit sich eine solche Fabrik auf dem Weltmarkt behaupten kann, ist nicht nur modernes Know-how nötig, sondern auch die Fachleute, die dieses anwenden können. Statt diese Experten im Ausland einzukaufen, setzten wir daher auf die Ausbildung vor Ort.

Dies war der Anfang der Schule: eine technische Akademie für die Betriebe in Mim. Damit gaben wir uns jedoch nicht zufrieden: wir wollten eine professionelle Schule, ein breites Ausbildungsangebot, finanzielle Sicherheit für den Schulbetrieb und ein Konzept, das konsequent auf Nachhaltigkeit setzt. Ehrgeizige Ziele, die wir aber mit unserem Team in Mim umsetzen konnten und weiterhin ausbauen werden.

Was so viele Jahre nur als Idee existierte, ist heute endlich Realität: die Ghana Greentech Academy ermöglicht jungen Menschen aus der Region eine hochwertige Ausbildung, die sie zielgerichtet auf ein erfolgreiches Berufsleben vorbereitet – international für einige von ihnen, vor allem aber vor Ort. Damit Ghana seinen Reichtum an natürlichen Ressourcen für eine Zukunft nutzen kann, von der das Land selbst am meisten profitiert.

 

Lars Wallevik

Ghana Greentech Academy
P.O. Box 51, Mim,
Brong Ahafo, Ghana
Tel: +233 545 59 06 31
l.andersen@ghanagreentech.org

Ghana Greentech Academy
Förderverein e.V.
Hardtbergweg 16
61476 Kronberg, Germany
Tel: +233 557 05 52 09
p.mueller-scheessel
@ghanagreentech.org

For more Information
follow us on

FacebookInstagram